DLSU-D clobbered by UST in PSL 2018 prelims, 0-3

The DLSU-D Lady Patriots sustained their fourth setback in the Philippine Superliga (PSL) Collegiate Grand Slam 2018 preliminary round as they were unable to tame the University of Santo Thomas (UST) Golden Tigresses with set scores of 15-25, 16-25, 20-25 on Thursday, December 13, at the Muntinlupa Sports Center in Muntinlupa City.

Lady Patriot open spiker Basilyn Delfin led the blitz of DLSU-D with seven spikes and a block, yet it was still insufficient to tame the Golden Tigresses.

It was a tight first set for the two opposing teams until Golden Tigress Janine Balcorta ignited a five-point surge to attain a comfortable lead, 15-9, over the Lady Patriots. UST held on to the lead until the end of the first set, finishing with a 10-point win over DLSU-D, 15-25.

Golden Tigress Alessandrini Milena stepped up in the second set with pounces on the defense of the Lady Patriots with four crushing spikes and charging a 4-0 rally to end the set, 16-25.

UST prevented the green-and-white squad from getting an upset win despite being tormented with numerous errors in the final set. The Golden Tigresses pulled off two four-point runs to make up for their errors, finishing the game with, 20-25.

UST’s Alessandrini Milena roared with 11 scores, nine of which were vicious spikes while  fellow Golden Tigresses Ejiya Laure and Ysabel Jimenez were named Most Valuable Players (MVPs) of the match with 10 and 9 markers respectively to keep UST unscathed at first place with a win-loss record of 5-0 in the elimination round.

The final showdown of the Lady Patriots in the PSL league will be against Colegio of San Agustin (CSA) – Biñan at the Mall of Asia Arena on Tuesday, December 18.


DLSU-D (0)

Delfin: 8, Ramos: 5, Wong: 3, Del Rosario: 2, Protacio: 1, Tono: 1, Borlagdatan: 0, Carranza: 0, Castillo: 0, Parohinog: (L), Pena: (L), Velasco: 0


UST (3)

Alessandrini: 11, Laure: 10, Jimenez: 9, Balcorta: 5, Francisco: 4, Roldan: 4, Viray: 3, Avila: 2, Pacres: 2, Victoria: 2, Galanza: 1, Mangulabnan: 1, Delerio: (L), Martin: (L)

Post a Comment